History was never a class that I looked forward to. You’re probably expecting me to say “until now because HST 110L changed my perception on the subject”. Unfortunately that is not where I was going with that. HST 110L didn’t make me fall in love with history but I didn’t dread going to class like I expected I would.

17inskeep-blog427A large part the class is writing book reports on American leaders from different time periods. For my first report, my subject was Andrew Jackson. I wanted to challenge myself by doing a report on him because Jackson is on the top of my list of worst presidents. Reading American Lion: Andrew Jackson in the White House did not change how I felt about him but it did make me realize that there were motives behind his actions. I still don’t agree with them but I understand them more.

My second book report was done on Victoria Woodhull. Most of you probably have no clue who she is which disapoints me a bit. Victoria Woodhull was the first women to operate a brokerage firm on wall street, the first women to address a congress committee, and the first women to run for the Presidency of the United States.  Most of you are probably thinking wow how did I not know this because that is exactly what I thought. I then did a research project that connected to the book report because it was on the women’s rights movement.

VW

As I told you before, I’m not a history fanatic; I most likely never will be. But HST 110L was an interesting class to take and I enjoyed the book projects that we were required to do.

Leave a Reply

